My 2013 All Star Weekend


ALW

Another All-Star Weekend is in the books and once again I wasn’t there to experience it in person.  Instead I was in Philly going through the motions of another normal weekend.  I didn’t get to take in the celebrity All-Star game or as it should be known, The Kevin Hart Variety Hour.  I wasn’t invited to Michael Jordan’s 50th birthday party.  Guess my evite got lost in cyberspace.  I didn’t get to rub elbows with Rick Rozay at the Slam Dunk contest or receive late night life lessons from World Wide Wes like the one below told by Bill Simmons.

So it’s 2:45 in the morning on Friday night. All the Dallas bars and parties have either closed down or stopped letting people in. I’m standing on Main Street with a bunch of people, including Worldwide Wes, the renowned NBA power broker who’s really a cross between Confucius, a benevolent uncle and The Wolf in “Pulp Fiction” to assorted NBA superstars and up-and-coming stars. Known as “Uncle Wes” to the players, he carries more weight within the league than basically anybody. Because he keeps such a low profile, I could never figure out why. Which is why I went out of my way to spend some time with him on Friday night.

Back to Main Street: We’re standing with a young player who wants the night to keep going. The young player pushes to find another bar even though the odds are against it. Uncle Wes makes a face. He’s squashing this right now.

“Nothing good can happen at this point,” Wes explains simply. “You can’t chase the night. When the night is over, the night is over. That’s just the way it is. You just gotta wake up tomorrow and hope for a better day.”

Uncle Wes had spoken. I am not exaggerating by saying it’s a strangely profound moment. Within 15 seconds, our group splinters in three directions to look for cabs. I find one with my friend Connor. We climb in. We look at each other.

“I will never be able to properly explain that story to anyone,” Connor said.

Agreed. You can’t chase the night. It was like hearing a human fortune cookie. I went back to my hotel, took my contacts out, crawled into bed and hoped for a better day. These are the things that happen at NBA All-Star Weekend.

And thanks to the taunting photos on Instagram I was able to confirm what I suspected, I was missing out.  So I decided to document my weekend in order to motivate myself to get to All-Star Weekend 2014 in New Orleans.  Never again am I missing an NBA All-Star Weekend unless it is for the birth of one of my future children or I’m invited on set for a cameo appearance in a Tom Cruise movie.

New Orleans I’ll see you in 2014 and this is why…….

Drake’s transportation for All-Star Weekend

Drake

My transportation for All-Star Weekend

CRV

2 Chainz dinner in Houston

lobster

My dinner in Philly

KunPao

Meek Mill’s Friday night

PushaT

My Friday night

Comp

Friends hanging out in Houston

CP3

Friends hanging out in Philly

crew



Fabolous’ late night snacks

fingers

My late night snacks

sushi

The view from Meek Mill’s lap

MMill

The view from my lap

lap

Money leftover from Drake’s weekend

stacks

Money left over from my weekend

Cash

Kevin Hart I’ll see you in NOLA 2014.

Screen Shot 2013-02-18 at 10.35.48 AM

Leave a Reply

