Takeaways From The NY Times Kanye Interview


In advance of the release of his new album, Yeezus, the mercurial Kanye West sat down with Jon Caramanica of the NY Times for an in depth interview.  Per usual Kanye did not disappoint.  If you haven’t read the interview I encourage you to click the photo above and read it.

Kanye West fancied himself a high school all-star like so many former high school athletes.  “I was on the junior team as a freshman, that’s how good I was.”

The basketball discussion didn’t end there though as Kanye called himself the “Michael Jordan of music” in his next answer.

Kanye has a rather low opinion of himself.  JK JK JK JK HAHAHAHA.  “I am so credible and so influential and so relevant that I will change things.”

Kanye’s holy trinity; “Beauty, truth, and awesomeness.  That’s all it is.”  I can’t believe that isn’t on a bumper sticker already.

Apparently Kanye does recognize there is at least one thing he doesn’t do well.  “But I think the fact that I can’t sing that well is what makes ‘808’s’ so special.”

Kanye did his music shopping at Virgin music stores

Mr. West was heavily influenced by the somewhat militant rap duo Dead Prez

Kanye does have a five year plan like many people, “Yo, I’m going be super Zenned out like, five years from now.”

Inspiration for Yeezus was found in some odd places including a Corbusier lamp.  I haven’t the slightest fucking clue what a Corbusier is, but it sounds expensive.

It takes much less time for Kanye to get dressed nowadays.

Kanye holds Christmas presents in the highest regard, “If you don’t make Christmas presents, meaning making something that’s so emotionally connected to people, don’t talk to me.”

In addition to MJ Kanye compared himself to the late Steve Jobs.  “I think what Kanye West is going to mean is something similar to what Steve Jobs means.”

Kanye’s list of the most influential people include, Steve Jobs, Walt Disney, Henry Ford, Howard Hughes, Nicolas Ghesquiere, Anna Wintour, and David Stern.  Can’t believe he is going do Dave Mathews Band dirty like that.

Kanye has a basic understanding of biology.  “I am the nucleus.”

 

Leave a Reply

