6 Shows I Wish Were On Netflix Streaming


Dear Netflix,

Please add the following shows to your streaming catalog.

Thanks,

Andrew

VH1 Behind the Music

It would be impossible to count the number of times I fell into a black hole watching a Behind the Music marathon on VH1.  Sunday Behind the Music marathons are the late 90s/early 2000s equivalent of the Sunday Law & Order: SVU marathons today.  Both shows involve intravenous drug use, sex, death, sex, criminal activity, sex, and Ice T.  Only difference is the music played in Behind the Music goes beyond the black screen “thunk thunk” and ominous single note that is held for six seconds.  Also the Behind the Music stories are REAL>  The best stories certainly came from Motley Crue, Def Leppard, Milli Vanilli, Metallica, and TLC.  I can still picture watching T-Boz on the screen saying, “Lisa gone and burn the house down.”  Or Stuart Copeland passionately talking about how much he hated Sting.  The stories were unbelievable and arguably educational.
ER

For my entire sophomore year of college the earliest I had class was 1 PM.  Winter quarter I think a majority of my classes were actually online, but that’s a story for a different time.  My point is from the hours of 10 to noon every weekday I had a standing appointment with my television and ER.  Dr. Green’s emotional goodbye.  Doug leaving County General in a blaze of glory like the cowboy that he was.  Or Abby Lockhart being a total babe of a nurse.  The show was awesome.  A little soap oprea-y at times, but I’m fine with that.

Friends

I mean come on.  I don’t need to plead my case here.  I’m a sucker for the show along with just about every other person between the ages of 28 and 37.  It was the 90’s I Love Lucy, MASH, Cheers, or whatever show you believe defined a decade.  I can say with confidence the show taught me NOT to get married right after college and enjoy the weird time between college and marriage when you are trying to figure out how to be an adult.

Seinfeld

Best comedy since I’ve been alive.  It feels a little dated now, but I still laugh watching the show all the time.  The show is probably still referenced more than any comedy that is on the air today.

In Living Color

Jim Carey, Keenan Ivory Wayans, Marlon Wayans, Damon Wayans, Shawn Wayans, Tommy Davidson, David Allen Grier, Jaime Foxx, Jennifer Lopez, Rosie Perez, Carrie Ann Inaba.  All of those people came out of Fox’s answer to SNL.  I actually remember watching In Living Color before SNL thanks to my cousin Bianca.  Homie the Clown and Fire Marshall Bill I thought were the funniest characters in the world when I saw them for the first time.

The Entire Real World, Road Rules, and The Challenge Library

I admit I could be in the minority here, but the show has been on the air for 20 plus years now.  The only other shows that have been on longer are probably The Simpsons and Monday night wrestling (I only know this cause of Mr. Bo).  Whatever you think of the show now is fine, but back in the 90’s the show tackled real issues.  Pedro, Ruthie, Dave’s weird love rage.  I never had any older siblings so the show became my de-facto big brother, warning me to never drink and drive, be a respectful roommate, and never appear on reality television.  Now The Challenge and Real World aren’t as socially relevant, but it is still a hell of an entertaining show to watch.

Just Missed the Cut

90210, Martin, Party of Five, Law & Order (All Seasons), Fresh Prince, and of course Boy Meets World

Leave a Reply

